Goodbye Sikkim


As the nimbostratus grows darker

And the sun conceals itself behind Mt. Kanchendzonga

The torrential downpours of July graces our land

The land of rejuvenated hopes and of upbeat people

Who suspend all activities and enjoy this graceful downpour

Diligent farmers, playfully, yet efficiently sow rice

And here I am busy packing for I have to depart soon

To the land where the humidity is high, and hopes low

 I pray for the cruel hands of time to pause

To let me drench in this downpour

And enjoy this exhilarating inertia a little more

But sadly as it always has- the hands get going

And now I have to leave for the land

The land of sapped hope and unfamiliar voices

The land of intermittent rain

Sporadic joy and constant pain

These depressing thoughts weigh me down

But just as the rain retreats for the day

Only to return again the next morrow

I too shall return to this joyful land

Until then, goodbye Sikkim!

 

Leave a comment